FINDING A SERIES OR AN AUTHOR:

USING THE PAGE TABS (ABOVE) TO FIND A SERIES OR AUTHOR:

Only the most recent posts pop up on the HOME page. For searchable lists of titles/series reviewed on this Blog, click on one of the Page Tabs above. On each Page, click on the series name to go directly to my review.

AUTHOR SEARCH lists all authors reviewed on this Blog. CREATURE SEARCH groups all of the titles/series by their creature types. The RATINGS page explains the violence, sensuality, and humor (V-S-H) ratings codes found at the beginning of each Blog review and groups all titles/series by their Ratings. The PLOT TYPES page explains the SMR-UF-CH-HIS codes found at the beginning of each Blog review and groups all titles/series by their plot types. On this Blog, when you see a title, an author's name, or a word or phrase in pink type, this is a link. Just click on the pink to go to more information about that topic.

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

NEW SERIES! THEMIS FILES SERIES, by Sylvain Neuvel

Author:  Sylvain Neuvel 
Series:  THEMIS FILES 
Plot Type:  Science Fiction Mystery/Thriller
Ratings:  Violence3; Sensuality2; Humor—2   
Publisher:  Del Rey (4/2016)
     Sleeping Giants (4/2016)
     Waking Gods (4/2017)

                    WORLD-BUILDING                    
    The series is set in the modern world with no futuristic elements. In this fictional world—just as in our real world—there is global unrest as nations clash with one another and make secret deals in order to attain greater power. Forging those deals is the job of anonymous behind-the-scenes people (generally men) who make decisions that are in their own best interest and make and break alliances as they deem necessary. 

                         NOVEL 1: Sleeping Giants                         
PUBLISHER'S BLURB: 
     A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power. 

     A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand. 

     Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected. 

     But some can never stop searching for answers. 

     Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction? 

     NOTE: The movie rights for Sleeping Giants have been optioned by Sony. David Koepp (Jurassic Park, Spider-Man, Mission Impossible) is writing the script. Josh Bratman and Matt Tolmach are producing.

MY REVIEW: 
    The person who controls the telling of this story is an unnamed interviewer (or interrogator) who gives the characters—and the reader—only the information he deems necessary. The story-telling method is mostly a series of interview scripts and personal journal entries. That means that the reader rarely has direct access to actions and events in real time because the interviews and the journal entries—the discussion and analysis—must necessarily come afternot duringthe occurrence of the events. This fact removes the reader from the thrill of battle, so to speak, but it does provide an opportunity to watch the interviewer in action as he manipulates the interviewees by prodding them to accept his interpretation of the facts and come to the conclusions that suit his long-term plans.

     The basic premise is that thousands of years ago a giant statue of a woman (20 stories high) was buried in pieces all over the globe. The interviewer is taking the lead in a project designed to locate all of the statue's body parts and put them under the control of a scientist—Dr. Rose Franklin—who will put it back together and figure out how it works. Rose first encountered one of the statue's hands when she was a child and fell into a crater. "There I was, this tiny little thing at the bottom of the hole, lying on my back in the palm of a giant metal hand." Now, in a twist of irony, she will be leading the team that discovers all of the statue's secrets.

     As more and more body parts arrive at Rose's laboratory under the Denver airport, it soon becomes clear that this is not a statue, but a highly sophisticated robot, and Rose's team is expanded to include two pilots who must crawl inside the robot and figure out how to make her move. The first pilot is Chief Warrant Officer 3 Kara Resnick. Kara is a stubborn, outspoken helicopter pilot in the U.S. Army. In her interviews, she constantly argues with and questions the interviewer, mostly to no avail. He definitely has an agenda, and he doesn't plan to share it with anyone. The other pilot is Chief Warrant Officer Ryan Mitchell. Two more members round out the list of supporting characters: Vincent Couture, a Canadian linguist, and Dr. Alyssa Papantoniou, a geneticist. Vincent's job is to translate some strange writing on the walls of the room in which the first robotic hand was found. Alyssa's task is to analyze the DNA of the pilots to understand why the robot seems to accept or reject their efforts to start her up and control her movements.

     The story moves along at a slow-to-moderate pace, and I must admit that it took me a while to get into it. You have to recognize that this is not a smoothly constructed narrative and accept the fact that the episodic style can make the story-telling seem a bit choppy. The novel's unconventional structure works well because the plot itself isn't traditional (although it does have its own version of exposition, setting, rising action, conflict, and climax). Contrary to the publisher's teaser, the plot does not center on Rose and the giant hand. Instead, it focuses on how Rose and her team members interact with the interviewer, with the robot, and among themselves as they familiarize themselves with this new technology and its implications for their personal lives and the world at large. It's also a dark and cynical take on modern world politicswhich turns out to be not very different from the political shenanigans currently taking place in our real world. 

     Once you get past the initial interviews and into the personal interactions of the characters, the interviewer's control begins to slip as human emotions like romance, jealousy, and ambition enter the picture and send events on unplanned paths. My favorite character is the snarky, manipulative interviewer, with prickly Kara as a close second. Although the interviewer at first appears to be a cold and heartless man, he soon shows himself to have a bit of a soft side (although his emotions never prevent him from taking some very heartless actions when he deems them necessary to further his long-term goals). The interviewer is like the Wizard of Oz behind the curtain, appearing to the characters as an all-seeing, all-powerful authority figure, but eventually being outed as something else when his curtain is pulled away. Although the initial interviews are coldly humorless, the characters (especially the interviewer) loosen up as the story advances, allowing some dry, sarcastic humor to filter through.

     The story takes many twists and turns, many of which are due directly to human frailties, an ironic turn of events in a book devoted to an extremely powerful technical wonder. The epilogue provides the cliff-hanger that will launch the story line of the second book.
    
     Even though it took me a while to get into and through this novel, I'm glad that I made the effort. I noticed that one or two Amazon.com reviewers claimed that there were inconsistencies in the plot, but that's not the case. If you pay attention to what the characters say in their interviews and in their journals, everything fits together perfectly. This is a book to read at a leisurely pace, meeting and getting to know the characters, understanding the political and personal implications of each major event, andespeciallygetting into the interviewer's head as his plans don't take him exactly where he wantsand needsto go. This is an extremely inventive story told in a very creative manner, and I highly recommend it. Click HERE to read or listen to an excerpt from Sleeping Giants on the novel's Amazon.com page by clicking either on the cover art or the "Listen" icon.

FULL DISCLOSURE: My review of Sleeping Giants is based on an electronic advance reading copy (ARC) of the book that I received from the publisher through NetGalley. I received no promotional or monetary rewards, and the opinions in this review are strictly my own.

                         ABOUT THE AUTHOR                          
     Sylvain Neuvel dropped out of high school at age 15. Along the way, he has been a journalist, worked in soil decontamination, sold ice cream in California, and peddled furniture across Canada. He received a Ph.D. in linguistics from the University of Chicago. He taught linguistics in India, and worked as a software engineer in Montreal. He is also a certified translator, though he wishes he were an astronaut. He likes to tinker, dabbles in robotics and is somewhat obsessed with Halloween. He absolutely loves toys; his girlfriend would have him believe that he has too many, so he writes about aliens and giant robots as a blatant excuse to build action figures (for his son, of course). Click HERE and HERE to read on-line interviews with Neuvel about Sleeping Giants.

No comments:

Post a Comment